$29.69$32.99

SKU: 9781472273321

Availability: 119

*An Evening Standard Must Read, Grazia Best Book of 2021 and Independent Debut Not to Miss*'Beautifully written, this is a book of real hope and connection' StylistA bittersweet story of coming-of-age in a divided world,...

Tags: Modern and contemporary fiction (post c. 1945)

guaranteed checkout

amazon payments visa master paypal american express apple pay shopify pay google pay
*An Evening Standard Must Read, Grazia Best Book of 2021 and Independent Debut Not to Miss*

'Beautifully written, this is a book of real hope and connection' Stylist

A bittersweet story of coming-of-age in a divided world, in the tradition of TIN MAN or BLACK SWAN GREEN.

It's a lonely life for Stan, at a new school that feels more ordeal than fresh start, and at home where he and his mother struggle to break the silence after his father's death. When he encounters fearless, clever Charlie on the local common, all of that begins to change. Charlie's curiosity is infectious, and it is Charlie who teaches Stan, for the first time, to stand on his own two feet. But will their unit of two be strong enough to endure in a world that offers these boys such different prospects?

The pair part ways, until their paths cross once again, as adults in London. Now Stan is revelling in all that the city has to offer, while Charlie seems to have hit a brick wall. He needs Stan's help, and above all his friendship, but is Stan really there for the man who once showed him the meaning of loyalty?
translation missing: en.general.search.loading